If My Nose Were Full of Nickels, I’d Blow It All On You …

2 Comments

I love my family.  I love my country.  And I love my books.  In fact I adore them.  So much so that every room in my house has hidden industrial sized bins full of paperbacks.  Unless a book is really distasteful to me, I keep it — forever

I think I would be horrified (as would my spouse) if I had any notion of how much money I spend a year in the bookstore.  The truth is, it would be exponentially higher if my expectations as a reader were met more frequently. 

Some authors are auto-buys.  They consistently weave a story that resonates with me.  This week I broke pattern and picked up a book that I initially dismissed as “fluff”.  It was an Insider’s Guide to the The Black Dagger Brotherhood series by JR Ward.  The series itself is a little ouside of my normal tastes.  But it rocks.  Really intense.  Amazing characters.  It makes me envious — I so want to be able to bring my own writing up to that level. 

So, I’ll keep spending my nickels.  Reading not only entertains me but also inspires me to keep pushing past my own writing obstacles.  Maybe someday (suspend belief for just a moment) a book with my name on it will end up in an industrial sized bin in somebody else’s basement 🙂

2 thoughts on “If My Nose Were Full of Nickels, I’d Blow It All On You …

  1. Rather than clutter your living space, + deprive others an opportunity to enjoy some fine literature, why not donate these works to your local library ? Charity truly does begin @ home ….

  2. What a fabu idea, Gus! I’m a bit of a biblio-germ-phobe. The idea of thumbing through a book that countless strangers have touched gives me a slight case of the vapors! Donating my books to others, for obvious reasons,does not engender the same reaction 🙂

Leave a Reply

