You take it on faith, you take it to the heart…

4 Comments

200px-frasier111The waiting is the hardest part!  iconator_c4e270e3c8fe8f983b76fb01b31545681Writing is fun…at least for me.  In fact when I sat down to write my first book, my only aspiration was to finish it.  I knew then, as I still do today, that submitting my work would strain every cell in my body.  The truth is — rejection is much more commonplace than acceptance.  Honestly, I’ve been very lucky so far.  I’ve received two flat out rejections to date, both contained personal feedback explaining what didn’t work in the story for that particular publisher.  They were both blessings because they reiterated what I knew in the back of my head.  At this point I cannot mold my writing to fit their very specific requirements.  I could hit the word count but theme wise I would struggle to create believable characters in their preferred settings (cowboys and billionaires are above my pay grade).

Popular wisdom is that as soon as you send in a submission for consideration jump right into a new story.  In theory this is practical because wait times can be long and varied depending upon the publisher.  Frankly, I stink at this part.  Every day I wait.  Every day I worry.  I don’t expect a contract.  Really.  This may sound stupid…but I have no idea when I complete a story if it’s decent or if it stinks to high heaven.  In essence that is what makes the waiting unbearable.  Will the editor laugh (and not in a good way)?  Are two stories as far as I am ever going to go with my writing?  Nibbling on Halloween candy that I’ve swiped from my children and checking email eight hundred times a day are probably not the healthiest of habits.

Maybe today will be the day that I get that email, telling me the fate of my third manuscript.  Good heavens, if I do receive a rejection (which is more likely than not) then chances are I’ll mourn the fact that the waiting is over!!!

Where the hell is Frasier Crane when you need him?

4 thoughts on “You take it on faith, you take it to the heart…

  1. I spotted Dr Crane, just the other day
    in 02026 Sq.He was enjoying the scene and a
    Pumpkin spice lattie.I hear he is A regular
    at Mocha Java’s.

  2. Whoa! Maybe the rumor is true, that Lilith and Frederick are living in a restored Colonial (circa 1798) over in Precint One 🙂 Century 21 supposedly closed the deal last spring….

  3. So, let’s make the most of this beautiful day
    Since we’re together we might as well say
    Would you be mine, could you be mine
    Won’t you be my neighbor
    Won’t you please, won’t you please
    Please won’t you be my neighbor!!!

Leave a Reply

