A Christmas Wish…

1 Comment

wishlist-sml13

For the first time in my life I can honestly say that there is not a single thing that I want for Christmas.  Being with my family in the Boston area – enjoying good food, music, & perhaps a glass or two of wine – is more than enough to make my holiday perfect.  Normally, I can think of one or two items that I would like to find under the tree on December 25th — this year, nothing.

 

Although I probably shouldn’t admit it, considering world events and the economy, but 2008 has been an incredible year for me.  Really incredible.   It was fun, fulfilling and fruitful.

 

·          Vacations: my husband is something of a work-a-holic.  Since I shared that disease before I had children, I understand his desire to limit time away from the office.  This year, however, we took many trips.  Short in duration but packed full of excitement.  LONGBOAT KEY, CAPE COD, TORONTO, NYC (twice) — Three RED SOX games.  Lots of great memories!

 

·         My writing:  having two books contracted in 2008 was like winning American Idol – minus the humiliation.  Although editors are often portrayed as being snarky, erudite versions of Simon Cowell, I’ve found this not to be the case.   Samhain Publishing is as professional, poised, and savvy as their reputation suggests.  And, The Wild Rose Press, maintains a rock steady focus on their authors.  Without a doubt, I’ve been lucky to land in very capable hands with these publishers.

 

·          So many extras this year:  it’s hard to recall how many times I’ve had those little wow moments, when someone does something unexpected that puts a permanent smile on your face. 

o        Book cover blow-ups: both my husband and my brother Frank had copies of my book covers made into posters.  One hangs in my mom’s cottage, one in my brother’s den, and one in my hallway.  VERY COOL AND VERY SWEET.

o        Blog help:  Gus and Mr. Kersey always take the time to brighten my day with little anecdotes.  THANK YOU!

o        MOM: my mother is cool, always has been and always will be.  This year she drove six hours to be here the day my book was released.  She literally goes the extra mile (or extra 300 hundred miles) for her children.

o        KINDLE:  my husband, Dan, surprised me with a Kindle this year.  I love it!!!!!  Perfect gift for the book obsessed (much better than jewelry).

o        My boys: everyday there is at least one moment when my husband or I wonder out loud about how we hit the jackpot when it comes to children.  They’re not perfect (they have my genes after all) but they are darn cool.

Hmm, I’ve only scratched the surface — but I need to step away from the computer and start packing for Boston!  HAPPY HOLIDAYS!   HUGS TO ALL!

 

 

One thought on “A Christmas Wish…

Leave a Reply

