Saying Goodbye to 2008….

5 Comments

  White Christmas Lights

Should auld acquaintance be forgot,
And never brought to mind ?
Should auld acquaintance be forgot,
And days o’ lang syne ?

As the final hours of 2008 tick down, I thought I would take a moment and look back on what was a very busy year.  I found a cool list on another site that I am modifying here:

 

1.        What did you do in 2008 that you’d never done before?  Became a published author….yahoo!

2.     What would you like to have in 2009 that you lacked in 2008? The courage to attend the RWA National Convention.  Every year I say I’m going to do it – only to back down before registration.

3.     What date from 2008 will remain etched in your memory and why?  November 11th;  The Catcher and the Lie release date with Samhain

4.     Whose behavior made you depressed in ’08? The media; the downward spiral in journalistic ethics gained momentum this year.

5.     Whose behavior merited celebration? My mom, brothers Wink & Gus, sister Kat – they stepped up, as always, to bring comfort and care to sick relatives and friends.  They spent the extra time and effort to travel, bring food, help with bills, visit in the hospital — anything and everything whereas many around them opted out.

6.     Did anyone close to you die?  Aunt Rita, Aunt Ann, and Dr. Bird left this world in 2008.  Although there had been suffering it was still very difficult to say goodbye.

7.     Did anyone close to you give birth in 2008?  No

8.     What was your biggest failure?  Inability to save the Catholic School my boys attended open.  I let a lot of anger build up, before accepting the fact that the current Bishop where I live will never be the leader I need or want…..ooh, still some anger there.

9.     What did you get really excited about this year?  My book release, especially having my mom here with my family.

10.  What political issue stirred you the most?  Oops, too many to count.

11.     What was your favorite TV program?  NCIS

12.  Where did most of your money go?  When we picked up another rescued dog from the Humane Society we ended up racking up expenses; tossing away destroyed furniture, hiring a carpenter to create a special door, vet fees, food, etc.

13.   Compared to this time last year are you happier or sadder? Thinner or fatter? Richer or poorer?   HAPPIER, 3 Pounds Heavier, and Slightly richer – at least my husband is (and we believe in trickle down economics)

14.   Who was the best new person you met?  Although I didn’t technically meet this person face to face – I would have to say my editor Tera.  I think because I was always afraid to even submit my writing anywhere, it was a huge relief to encounter someone who was down to earth, helpful, smart and direct. 

15.   What kept you sane?  My husband and our boys; we have a really nice time together so home is relaxing, light hearted, fun! 

16.  Favorite movie?  Madagascar 2

17.   What was the best thing you bought?  A copy of my book….just kidding.  My husband gave me a Kindle; which I LOVE!

18.   What are your plans for 2009? Eat leftover chocolate cake tomorrow for breakfast; half tonight to celebrate the New Year and polish it off by noon so I can start thinking about dropping five pounds.

Now it’s time for you to share!!!

 

5 thoughts on “Saying Goodbye to 2008….

  1. As we put ’08 in the rear view mirror …. THANK YOU to all of my friends + loved ones. You know who you are. I LOVE you all madly + wish for you only GOD’S Blessings in the coming NEW YEAR !

Leave a Reply

