Weird Word…or is it Just Me?

5 Comments

Some words just seem funny.  The way they look.  The way they sound.  The word meme — always makes me smile.  This word pops up frequently on blogs, as people tend to share insights into their own lives.  Here’s how Merriam-Webster defines the term:

 

meme

Pronunciation:

\ˈmēm\

Function:

noun

Etymology:

alteration of mimeme, from mim- (as in mimesis) + -eme

Date:

1976

: an idea, behavior, style, or usage that spreads from person to person within a culture

 

Here’s my meme for today!

 

  1. What was the last book you bought?  Attack of the Tyrannosaurus by Rex Stone (Scholastic Book Fair)  &  Kiss of a Demon King by Kresley Cole
  2. Name a book that you have read more than once:  I read most books more than once, sometimes several times.  Recent rereads include Something Borrowed by Emily Giffin (I had mixed emotions about the characters and needed to read it a second time to really flesh out my reaction) and Brideshead Revisited by Evelyn Waugh (I really enjoy post WWII stories)
  3. How do you choose a book?  I consider the cover, blurb, review site recommendations and previous experience with a particular author.
  4. Do you prefer fiction or non-fiction?  The majority of my reading tends to be fiction but I do enjoy political and biographical books, as well.
  5. What’s more important in a story – beautiful writing or gripping plot?  I’m a plot person and can forgive poor writing if the story keeps me well immersed in the pages.
  6. Most loved/memorable character?  Zsadist from JR Ward’s Black Dagger Brotherhood series.
  7. What book is presently on my nightstand?  The Amazing Spongebobini (a favorite of my four-year old) & my Kindle (which has about 4 unread downloads on it right now).
  8. What was the last book you read?  If You Dare by Kresley Cole
  9. Have you ever given up on a book mid-story?  All the time.  If it doesn’t capture my interest by page 50, I usually put it on my bookshelf.  Sometimes it’s my mood and sometimes it’s the story itself.  Typically I give it some distance and try again later.  

I’d love to hear your answers, if you want to share J

5 thoughts on “Weird Word…or is it Just Me?

  1. For those of us inclined to believe that there’s no such thing as coincidence …. The word “meme” was also used yesterday(Wed.1/28) in the title of a blog over @: xavierthoughts.blogspot.com …. The title of yesterday’s piece was: “The Browning Meme”. Fortunately, I had read your piece first so that when I went over to Xavier’s, I knew what the word meant. THANKS TERRY !

  2. My sympathies, Mr Kersey! I always seem to have some ridiculous song sloshing around my head. Yesterday it was Don Williams’ “I Believe in You” 🙂

    Hey GB! Hmm – I had to check out The Browning Meme because I didn’t have a clue what it related to…Thanks for sharing!!!!

    Terry

  3. Mr. KERSEY – I’m not sure why but, whenever I hear the song “What are words for …” it reminds me of HOOKIE ! How’s that for a blast from the past !

  4. Just a reminder how time flies …. When I first saw this blog, I was unfamiliar w/ the word “meme” + its meaning. So, I flipped open my always handy “The American Heritage Dictionary” + proceeded to look for “meme”. Couldn’t find it. Of course, I picked up my dictionary in the fall of my freshman year in college. Apparently, in the Fall of 1977, the word “meme” hadn’t even made the scene ! Oh my I’m getting old !

Leave a Reply

