Free-For-All-Friday…

2 Comments

Sometimes a week will past where I accomplish none of my writing goals.  This has been one of those weeks.  Instead of being disappointed I’m actually relieved.  My focus has been on my kids, houseguests, and my TBR pile.  Shopping. Late night movies.  Favorite restaurants.  Bowling.  All in all an ideal way to spend School Break.

 

After a prolonged drought of mediocre reading, I read several books this week that I would give two thumbs up:

 

Kristan Higgins – Too Good to be True (contemporary)

Carolyn Jewel – Scandal (historical)

Dave Ramsey – Total Money Makeover (finance)

Candace Camp – The Courtship Dance (historical)

 

Watched the latest Clint Eastwood movie, Grand Torino, and was pleasantly surprised by how much I LOVED IT.  Although I was slightly leery that violence or a sad ending might minimize my enjoyment of this flick, I walked away awed by Eastwood’s far reaching talent.  He’s a genius when it comes to filmmaking. Despite the serious theme, this movie kept me laughing throughout.  If you like Eastwood even just a little, put this movie on your future rental list.

Grantorino_galleryposter

Tomorrow my special guests (nieces, sister, & mom) will return home to the Boston area.  I’m grateful that they chose to spend a good portion of their vacation visiting my home.  This brings me to some sad news.

 

This past week Dee Tenorio, an author with Samhain and a prolific member of the on-line community, suffered the unexpected loss of a sibling.  Words and prayers seem so small of an offering during such a difficult period.  Dee’s sister leaves behind four children who will likely need assistance in the weeks and months that follow.  If you have a chance and want to read about their story, stop by her blog:

 

   http://www.deetenorio.com/Blog/

 

Sometimes even the smallest assistance can mean the world to a family in need.

 

Hugs!

 

2 thoughts on “Free-For-All-Friday…

  1. Rowdy Yates was right on the mark,thank
    Joyce Lindmark!.i really like the little
    references to other Eastwood movies. As for
    the ending it was full circle,with Toad riding
    off with his dog on a steel mount

  2. Morning Mr. Kersey,

    I hope that the beat on the street was wrong – and that this was not Clint’s final foray into acting. Most of what comes out of Hollywood these days is not to my liking…Eastwood always seems to deliver the goods 🙂

    The ending definitely came full circle — allowing his character to find peace with his past and hopefully eternal salvation for his future.

    Rita

Leave a Reply

