Please come to Boston for the springtime…

4 Comments

Friday morning I’m packing the car and heading up to the Boston area for the NEW ENGLAND CHAPTER of ROMANCE WRITERS OF AMERICA 2009 LET YOUR IMAGINATION TAKE FLIGHT CONFERENCE.  Since I don’t often attend workshops or leave my husband and children behind, this will be a different experience…I’m excited and just a wee bit nervous (I’m ¾ introvert mixed with ¼ extrovert).  Ah heck, I’ll force myself to have fun J

My alma mater (Villanova) plays in Boston late Thursday night, so I know what I’ll be watching tomorrow.  GO WILDCATS!!!  And Saturday when the conference winds down I’ll get to spend time back in my hometown — which means the trip will end on a definite high note!!!

Since it’s the saggy middle of the week I thought I would share some reminders of why it is never wise to verbally tangle with children:

 

A little girl was talking to her teacher about whales.
The teacher said it was physically impossible for a whale to swallow a human because even though it was a very large mammal its throat was very small.
The little girl stated that Jonah was swallowed by a whale.
Irritated, the teacher reiterated that a whale could not swallow a human; it was physically impossible.
The little girl said, ‘When I get to heaven I will ask Jonah’.
The teacher asked, ‘What if Jonah went to hell?’
The little girl replied, ‘Then you ask him’.

***

The children had all been photographed, and the teacher was trying to persuade them each to buy a copy of the group picture.
‘Just think how nice it will be to look at it when you are all grown up and say, ‘There’s Jennifer, she’s a lawyer,’ or ‘That’s Michael, He’s a doctor.’
A small voice at the back of the room rang out, ‘And there’s the teacher, she’s dead.’

***

 
 
 

 

4 thoughts on “Please come to Boston for the springtime…

  1. Way back when
    In Sixty-seven
    I was the dandy
    of Gamma Chi
    Sweet things from Boston
    So young and willing
    Moved down to Scarsdale
    Where the hell am I ?

Leave a Reply

