Well there’s a dark cloud rising from the …

10 Comments

Hmm, whenever I’m feeling a wee bit melancholy old Springsteen lyrics seem to take root in my brain.  Tonight there is definitely a dark cloud rising — the end of spring break is upon us.  The kids, already feeling low, nearly hit the floor when they realized their dad was heading off to the airport this afternoon.  Business trips just don’t bring out smiles around here L

Yesterday, I joined a local writing group that I initially linked up with last fall.  They have a really strong, broad group of members that bring a lot of cross-genre experience to the table.  I’m hoping to make like a sponge and learn as much as I can from them.  Since I’m a complete pantser, picking up craft pointers is enormously advantageous.

Not to gloat (because that’s simply not in my genetic makeup) but the Red Sox have been kicking some Yankee butt this weekend.  Both games have been mini marathons…so I’m hoping tonight’s match up ends before midnight.  I’m preparing myself mentally for a loss because a sweep seems unlikely against the boys from the Bronx!

Hey, I almost forgot some fun news.  Tomorrow my Samhain editor, the ever so lovely Tera, is kicking off a spring contest on her blog.  This is a really great chance to read a full first chapter of a Samhain book free (c’mon – you know you can’t resist).  If you leave a comment you’re automatically entered for a chance to win a copy of that ebook. 

Here’s the link:  http://editortera.wordpress.com/

   Be a winner! 

10 thoughts on “Well there’s a dark cloud rising from the …

  1. ” Those dreams come back to haunt me,
    they haunt me like a curse,
    Is a dream alive
    that don’t come true,
    Or is it something worse ….”

    Bruce Springsteen/ “THE RIVER”

  2. Holy Guacamole….that lyric pops into my head at least once a week! Damn that Springsteen…maybe if he spent less time writing songs and more time stepping out on Patti (oops…I’d better not go there).

    Hugs!

  3. What’s up with canadian rock singer/song-
    writer Bryan Adams? I remember when he was the
    Boss in some households….

  4. Were you tooling around Western NY today, Mr Kersey? I had my sun roof open, the radio blasting, as I sang Summer of 69 (off-key of course). It cuts like a knife when these former rock superstars fade from the public spotlight!!! He always sang straight from the heart….

    Hugs!

  5. Eerrr….you know what ditty has been sloshing around my brain today?

    “You put the lime in the coconut and drink em both up”

    Do you remember that one? I purchased a new flavor of sherbert ice cream aptly titled Lime and Coconut Sherbert. It’s Yummy!!!!! If you find it in your local store scoop it right up!!!!

Leave a Reply

