Anything but ordinary…

Leave a comment

Every year as I slather on sunscreen, grab canvas lawn chairs, and head to the local parade with my family I try to remember the true meaning of this day.  It is a day of remembrance, of honor, and pure appreciation.  Without fail, certain songs always come to mind when I think of wars past and present.   John McDermott (a personal favorite) has some lovely songs including his interpretation of Eric Bogle’s Waltzing Mathilda.  I’ll leave you with a few verses. 

(Excerpt:  And the Band Played Waltzing Mathilda  by Eric Bogle circa 1971)

So now every April, I sit on my porch
And I watch the parade pass before me
And I see my old comrades, how proudly they march
Renewing their dreams of past glory

I see the old men all tired, stiff and sore
The weary old heroes of a forgotten war
And the young people ask “What are they marching for?”
And I ask myself the same question

And the band played Waltzing Matilda
And the old men still answer the call
But year after year, the numbers get fewer
Some day none will march there at all

Waltzing Matilda, Waltzing Matilda
Who’ll come a Waltzing Matilda with me
And their ghosts may be heard as they march by the billabong
Who’ll come a waltzing Matilda with me.

God Bless!

Leave a Reply

