Great advice…but can it work for me?

1 Comment

I’m opinionated.  Quite opinionated, in fact.  Within my circle of family and friends we often joke about my hot button topics….those things that will set me off like a firecracker.  I won’t bore you with the details.  Anyway, this morning I was on the phone with someone who tends to share this same trait.  Between the two of us we are convinced the world would be much better off if it would just listen to us.

 Today this individual shocked me…she’s turning over a new leaf.  No more stressing/hand-wringing over those things that are beyond her ability to control. (For some reason this picture came to mind when she dropped her bombshell this morning.)Dog and deer

Now I didn’t want to burst her bubble by crying foul…but really, can anyone just opt out?  Don’t worry, Be happy makes a great postcard but can anyone truly live that life.  Maybe I’m jealous.  Maybe I’m just cynical.  Or maybe I’m just confused.  Can I hit the delete button on that portion of my personality?  Because, seriously, it might be a good idea if I could.  Hmm, I’m going to hold off on joining her journey for inner peace (minimal indigestion) until I see how things pan out for her!!!

In the meantime, I am chucking a completed manuscript that I’ve been revising forever.  IT’S NOT WORKING.  I like it, but I don’t love it.  It doesn’t feel exactly right.  So, I’m starting from scratch.  This is not something I have done before.  Keeping the same characters but reshaping everything else has been both frustrating and refreshing.  You’ll hear some ughs in here as the weeks go by.  I’m hoping this is a prudent decision in the long run.  Time will tell 🙂

One thought on “Great advice…but can it work for me?

Leave a Reply

