If I Could Turn Back Time…

5 Comments

When I was young I thought the best show on television was Bewitched.   I used to curl up on the floor and watch reruns on TBS.  With a twitch of her nose, Samantha Stephens, could go back in history (loved the Salem witch hunt episode) or zap into the future.  Is there anything cooler than that? 

Right now I’m fighting the urge to run away (with my kids, hubby, 3 dogs, 4 frogs, 2 snails in tow).  Just packing everyone up (along with some high fat snacks, diet Dr. Pepper, and Wrigley’s Gum) and hitting the highway.  For a month I’d like to forget about school, work, bills, my unsold house, and my mother’s illness.  I’m not a big believer in regrets…I prefer the ‘it is what it is’ school of thought.  But lately I’m constantly wishing I could roll back time just a few months.  Some of the choices I’ve made during that period have turned out kind of stinky…and I’d love to get a ‘do over’ chance.  I keep telling myself that uncertainty can lead to opportunity — but the truth is that it also creates stress. 

A few weeks back someone close to me said “you’re a strong person, you can handle this” — I laughed and cringed at the same time.  I’d like to be about a thousand times stronger.  I’d like to put down that bag of Doritos befoe I reach the crumbs.  I’d like to read back my current WIP without my face turning red (the last two chapters I’ve worked on have been interesting – I’m attributing that to lack of sleep).  I’d like to finally send the emails I’ve been avoiding (lack of energy is such a lame excuse).  This is starting to sound like a ‘to do’ list, which means I need to add getting on the recumbent bike.  My legs look like jello (white jello if that’s possible).  Yah, too much information.

Okay, time to face the laundry.  Oddly, it’s the one task that doesn’t send me reaching for a box of Ring Dings!

5 thoughts on “If I Could Turn Back Time…

  1. Two constants in life are laundry and taxes, they both have to get done. I have the joy of going to a retribution hearing tomorrow, for the addicts who robbed my home. Oh well a half day, maybe I can catch up on my laundry. It is what it is.

    • Geez, Martin — I’m trying not to think about taxes right now! NY state is plum crazy when it comes to taxation. For now I’m coughing it up on two homes…eeek! Good luck tomorrow. I’m completely unfamiliar with how retribution hearings work…but I imagine it brings back a lot of anger over having your home pillaged. Sending hugs your way!

  2. I know what you mean. There are quite a few things I would do-over.
    But alas, we can only go forward. I’d like to get good at that someday.

Leave a Reply

