Should I laugh….

4 Comments

Next weekend my husband and I will be attending a local fundraising Gala.  Typically we attend several each year for various charitable organizations.  Now, I’m not a huge shopper.  I like clothes, but don’t love them enough to spend hours locked in a dressing room.  In fact if it takes me more than twenty five mintues to find a dress I usually flee for the parking lot.  Sometimes I spend more time looking at the price tag than the actual dress.  See, I’m a firm believer that you don’t need to spend a ton of $$$ to look good in formal attire.  Frankly, the more expensive the more likely I’m going to break out in a fit of giggles.  Ruffles?  Puffy flowers on the butt?  Please…does anyone look good in that kind of outfit?  

3.1 Phillip Lim Tie Back Leather MinidressPhoebe Ruffled One Shoulder DressAlexander Wang Cutout Charmeuse DressAidan Mattox Niteline Ruffle Skirt Dress

Now I’m not a fan of any of the above outfits. The fact that one of them costs $600 seems downright criminal.  I don’t care if you’re thin, young and hot (none of which I am) I’ll still  chuckle if you sit next to me in one of these dresses. 

I thought about posting a picture of my dress next week…but now I’m afraid you’ll laugh at me 🙂  ‘Cause I’ll probably look ridiculous, too!!!

4 thoughts on “Should I laugh….

    • Hey GB,
      I’m enough of a realist to know that nothing is likely to look smashing on me. My recumbent bike has only been seeing me once or twice a week….which is soooo not good! My goal for next week’s Gala will be to stay far away from anyone with a camera in their hands.

      HUGS!

  1. Rita,
    I know you’re my age so you’re VERY young. As for thin, if you don’t think your thin, you might want to think about checking yourself in to a clinic somewhere.
    And hot? Well, you’ll have to ask your hubby about that. I’m sure he’d have a different thought on it! 🙂
    You my girl…are ALL that.
    I miss you,
    Christine

  2. You make me giggle, Christine 🙂 Unfortunately we did have our picture taken that evening…which was okay, until it was sent to a Penfield paper. I’m really hoping they chose to run some of the other pictures they received. I don’t like CAMERAS…

    Rita

Leave a Reply

