My Favorite Word…

4 Comments

Most writers will tell you that they have a pocketful of favorite words that appear over and over again in their stories.  Frankly I have a laundry list of words/phrases that I throw in a manuscript whenever I see too much white space on the page.  Recently my dearest spouse (yeah, add some tone when you read the word dearest) suggested I use one word excessively in conversation.  Clearly hearing this particular word doesn’t bring a smile to my loved one’s face.  Cue the drumroll please….. the word in question is INAPPROPRIATE.  I can’t deny it.  I say it constantly.  It has now reached the point where my oldest son is saying it…almost as often as I am.  The sad thing is I’ve tried to stop.  When my brain reaches for that word I try to run interference and come up with a substitute expression.  Usually this means I stop midsentence with my tongue hanging out of my mouth.  This doesn’t make me happy.  The cure seems to be worse than the illness itself.    I’ve hit rock bottom and posted a list on the side of my computer of synonyms: improper, inapt, incongruous, incorrect, indecorous, inept, infelicitous, unapt, unbecoming, unfit, unhappy, unseemly, unsuitable, wrong. 

Would it be inappropriate if I told my husband to keep his feedback to himself next time?

4 thoughts on “My Favorite Word…

  1. TERRY, I find it somewhat dis-heartening that a renowned author such as yourself could be faced with such a problem. Perhaps you might consider starting a new list to post on the side of your computer, starting with the word INCOMPETENT ! Just sayin’ ….

    • Gus,
      With your words…
      You raise me up, so I can stand on mountains;
      You raise me up, to walk on stormy seas;
      I am strong, when I am on your shoulders;
      You raise me up: To more than I can be.

      -Terry

  2. TERRY,is the above prose from something that LIONEL RITCHIE + The COMMODORES gave to us back in the late seventies ?

Leave a Reply

