Back to school blues…

3 Comments

Yes,  I’m feeling the back to school blues.  My boys – they’re fine.  Sure, a little sluggish but no wailing and gnashing of teeth this morning.  I keep staring at the clock waiting until it’s time for me to pick them up.  (Yes, I know this anxiety is slightly abnormal.  Most parents I know eagerly embrace September.  On the plus side this year I didn’t cry…at all when driving away.  This was a momentous first for me 🙂    

Anyway, I thought I’d share a poem to usher in the new school year.  (Author Unknown)

Twas the night before school started,
When all through the town,
The parents were cheering.
It was a riotous sound!
By eight, kids were washed
And tucked into bed…
When memories of homework…filled them with dread!
New pencils, new folders, new notebooks, too!
New teachers, new friends…their anxiety grew!
The parents just giggled when they learned of this fright
And shouted upstairs-…
GO TO BED-IT’S A SCHOOL NIGHT!

 

3 thoughts on “Back to school blues…

  1. Mr. KERSEY, I remember meeting you as a freshman @ Old D.H.S. in the Fall of 1973 …. Ah, it seems like just yesterday ! Do you remember the circumstances?

Leave a Reply

