I thought I was ready…

2 Comments

A year ago this Friday I learned the devastating news of my mother’s incurable illness.  Needless to say much of what happened during those weeks, and subsequent months, became a blur.  As a family we struggled through the holiday season knowing that my mom would not be here with us this year.  And now this year is here.  Tomorrow we head home to Boston to be with my silbings.  I’m excited.  Nervous.  Sad.  The holiday season will never be the same.  My mother was the heart of our celebrations and our hearts won’t be capable of embracing the days ahead with the same lightness.  But we will be together.  And we will remember those happier days.   And we will be grateful for more blessings than we could ever count. 

Have a happy and safe holiday.  Create wonderful memories with your families.

2 thoughts on “I thought I was ready…

Leave a Reply

