Better late than never…

2 Comments

Books!  I love them.  I’ve loved them since I was in the fourth grade.  For the most part I’ve embraced a wide spectrum of genres.  A glance at my bookshelf (now Kindle) would reveal anything from Stephen King to Leon Uris to Nora Roberts.  I passed through a true crime phase.  A political phase.  A leadership development phase. A classics phase.  You name it — I’ve probably devoured it at one point in my life.

There was however, an exception.  Up until this week I’ve never picked up a YA novel.  When I was younger I gravitated toward the books that my parents or older siblings were reading (availability probably played a key role in that decision).  Even as the Young Adult genre exploded I kept my distance, not even reading book reviews from my favorite sources.  I was sure that I couldn’t appreciate these books now because I’m not really in that age bracket any longer. My time had passed. 

Tuesday night I spent almost an hour searching Amazon for something to download.  I stumbled, literally, on a YA novel that popped up on a best seller list.  Gritting my teeth I tapped the ‘purchase’ option.  Fifty reviewers had glowing things to say (49 of which gave the novel 5 stars; one reviewer gave it 4 stars).  Yes – you know exactly where I’m going with this.  By the end of chapter one, I was hooked by the author Jamie McGuire. Beautiful Disaster kept me up late.  I refused to hit the pillow until I reached the end.  Fast forward three days and I confess to having now read a total of 5 YA novels since Tuesday night.  Have they all been perfect?  No.  A few could have used some tighter editing.  But I’d honestly rate 4 out of these 5 novels very highly.

Lesson learned.  A good story is a good story — regardless of the genre.

P.S. The cover art on Beautiful Disaster did not draw me in (sort of grossed me out actually).  But to be cliche, you can’t judge a book by its cover.

2 thoughts on “Better late than never…

  1. TERRY, not to be gauche but, has the cliche, ” you can’t judge a book by its cover ” ever been more apropo than when describing myself ?

    • Ahhhh, that’s because your spirit runs deep, my friend. It would be simply impossible to appreciate the real you without an in depth character study!

      -T

Leave a Reply

