Pour me something tall and strong…

4 Comments

“I need a hurricane, before I go insane”

I bet quite a few people are humming that Jimmy Buffett tune right now.  Last night I pondered (out loud) whether we could load up the car and head back to Cape Cod before Irene hit the East Coast.  My husband looked my way, shook his head, and mumbled ‘negative’.  Although I dread the thought of the potential damage this or any storm can wreak, I am a bit of a fan when it comes to the power of Mother Nature.  I remember as a kid sitting on our front porch just before Hurricane Gloria swept in…the memory of the smell and the stillness in the air is something I will never forget.  My father was always prepared: flashlights, candles and batteries neatly laid out in the kitchen.  My mother, on the other hand, had a twinkle of anticipation in her eyes. Years later when I was an adult living out of state I remember trying to track down my parents as a large storm was rolling up the coast with Cape Cod squarely in its sight.  I assumed my parents had headed back to the Boston area, away from the coast and expected flooding.  Nope. They decided to stay at their cottage and ride the storm out there.  Although they never took foolish chances (they were way too smart for that), they did enjoy witnessing the power of nature.

Since I will be watching this storm from a safe distance, I thought I would dispense with batteries and stock up on the ingredients to make a Hurricane cocktail.  Stay thirsty my friends….and more importantly stay safe!

Ingredients:

  • 2 oz light rum
  • 2 oz dark rum
  • 2 oz passion fruit juice
  • 1 oz orange juice
  • juice of a half a lime
  • 1 Tbsp simple syrup
  • 1 Tbsp grenadine
  • orange slice and cherry for garnish

Preparation:

  1. Squeeze juice from half a lime into shaker over ice.
  2. Pour the remaining ingredients into the cocktail shaker.
  3. Shake well.
  4. Strain into a hurricane glass.
  5. Garnish with a cherry and an orange slice.
4 thoughts on “Pour me something tall and strong…

    • Now I’m jealous…if I recall correctly the drinks at the last Kenny concert were pretty darn good! Try and stay thirsty, my friend. Have fun 🙂

      Rita

Leave a Reply

