Rule #23…courtesy of Leroy Jethro Gibbs

3 Comments

“Never mess with a Marine’s coffee if you want to live” –  I’m not a Marine, nor have I played one on television.  But I caution you not to mess with my coffee.  The results may be catastrophic.  Today I started the day with a low grade headache.  Sometimes a hearty dose of caffeine will reduce the ache between my ears.  After dropping my kids off at school I slipped into the parking lot of a nearby Dunkin Donuts.  Egad — the line was snaked around the corner.  It was like bumper cars on steroids.  My minor headache morphed into a steady throb.  This pushed me to plan B.  Fifteen minutes later I pulled into the parking lot of my neighborhood DD, where only four cars were waiting in the drive thru line.  Within seconds I had a large coffee (cream only) in hand and a smile on my face.  Then came an extreme error in judgement.  I drove away without doing a taste test.  When I finally cracked the lid the scent of tea wafted through my car.  Only it didn’t taste pure.  Somehow I ended up with a hybrid mix…..the smell of tea with a diluted taste of coffee.  Blech!!!!!  The memory is a bit blurry but I think I might have cried at that moment.  Now I have an overwhelming urge to go back to that drive thru and give them back their cute pink and orange styrofoam cup.  This shouldn’t happen, people.  Especially on a Friday.

Now, without the benefit of coffee, I’m sitting at my computer trying to organize my day.  So far my spirits are not lifted:

  • Sneak in all the household chores I’ve ignored before my spouse returns from an out of town business trip (laundry, dishes, dry cleaner, ugh, ugh, ugh)
  • Sit my big butt down on the recumbent bike for at least 45 minutes (of course, I need to actually pedal this time)
  • Finish outlining the last two chapters of my work-in-progress.  The end is near.  Seriously, I mean it this time.
  • Pick out at least two books to download on my Kindle.  I’m impatiently waiting for the latest release from Kristan Higgins but I need something to hold me over this weekend.
  • Decide if I’m going to participate in NaNoMo this year.  Some years I’ve had great success with it and other years have been a bust 🙂
  • Step away from my keyboard right now so I can cut the lawn in my backyard before the storm clouds here unleash their fury.
Oh, one more thing.  This week one of my closest writing buddies showed me a sneak peak at the cover of her upcoming debut novella.  It was awesome….I can’t wait until her release date.  Woo hoo, Deb!!!!!  (I’ll post a link when it becomes available for purchase).
3 thoughts on “Rule #23…courtesy of Leroy Jethro Gibbs

    • Oh my…I guess education never truly stops 🙂 Here is your homework assignment:

      Turn on USA Network Monday afternoon 4pm – 9pm. There’s a little show called NCIS. This will help you figure out the Leroy Jethro Gibbs question.

      As for NaNoMo —this refers to the National Novel Month which runs every November. Writers take a challenge to complete a book in a month. Tough but fun.

      Hugs,
      Rita

Leave a Reply

