Oh, the agony….

Leave a comment

Thirteen days ago I climbed back on my recumbent bike.  What used to be an easy workout nearly gutted me.  Forty-five minutes of torture.  Instead of starting off with a shorter ride, I decided to lower the resistance from my formerly comfortable level.  Soon it will be easier.  More of a routine and less of an interruption.  Maybe it’s my personality but I can’t start off doing 4 or 5 days a week.  It HAS to be every day.  And it has to be at least 45 minutes.  I can already see and feel a difference in my legs…which I so desperately wanted.  (My arms have never been a source of pride but my legs have always been decent in terms of muscle tone).  Once I’m back to where I was a year ago I’ll add sit ups to my routine.  The thought twists my stomach into knots but it needs to be done.

My writing routine is next on my ‘must do’ list.  This is the time of year that I like to change things up.  Usually that means entering contests (offered through publishers or agents).  I’m keeping my eyes open to see if anything cool pops up.  Of course I’m also mentally preparing for NaNoMo.  I’m still clinging to the hope that I’ll have two completed manuscripts ready by December.  Normally when my exercise habits improve my writing habits follow suit.  This is probably because I suffer less insomnia and maintain greater energy throughout the day.

Today I feel like treating myself.  Instead of scarfing down the huge bag of peanut m&m’s my husband brought home, I’m going to download the newest release from Kristan Higgins.  Reading makes my time on the recumbent bike much more bearable 🙂

Leave a Reply

