Another new year…

2 Comments

2012 2012 2012 2012 2012 – Yes, I’m practicing.  It takes me a long time to reprogram my brain.

Today I’m embracing my winter blues.  Maybe you’re like me, and you know well in advance those days when your spirits simply won’t soar.  The end of Christmas break, when the kids go back to school, is always a down day in my house.  The drive to school was eerily quiet.  No singing in the car.  No admiring the small flakes of snow that decorated our windshield. Freezing cold temperatures (13 degrees) only added another layer to our collective misery.

As I plunked down in front of my computer I thought about resolutions for the new year.  Ick.  After playing with the keyboard for fifteen minutes I decided that in 2012 :

  • I’m not going to commit to an exercise program.  Right now my haphazard routine (4-5 days a week/ 30-45 minutes on the treadmill) is fine.  If I try to improve on it, I’ll probably end up doing less.
  • I’m not going to dream about relocating to a warmer climate.  It makes days like today (13 degrees, with an expected high of 15 degrees) even more unbearable.  In fact, when I’m done with this post I’m going to go outside and embrace a snowman. Oops, I’ll have to build one first.
  • I’m not going to set daily word count goals.  Some days are simply more productive than others when it comes to my writing.  I’ll celebrate the good days and conveniently ignore those days when I wind up with fewer words than I started with.
  • I’m not buying any new quilt sets in 2012.  Seriously, I came so close to buying new bed sets for my kids over the weekend. If you looked in my linen closet you’d know this is an ongoing issue.  I made the mistake of telling my husband about my almost-purchase (it had an adorable sports theme) on Sunday and he almost fell over. I didn’t share with him the fact that the store only had one left and that was the sole reason I came home empty handed.
  • I’m not saving ebooks on my Kindle that I didn’t enjoy enough to finish.  Does anyone else have a problem hitting the delete button on their e-reader?  It feels odd.  Almost as bad as throwing out a paperback book.

What about you?  Anything you’re not going to do in 2012…..

2 thoughts on “Another new year…

Leave a Reply

