Sharing some news…Zip-A-Dee-Doo-Dah

4 Comments

Zip-A-Dee-Ay

My, oh my what a wonderful day. Plenty of sunshine heading my way…

Whew.  Back in early December Entangled Publishing offered to contract my book, Starts with Goodbye. On Saturday a copy of the signed contract landed in my hands…it was a total squeee moment.  As you know this isn’t the first time I’ve had an offer from a publisher, but in some ways it was the sweetest. As I’ve said here in the past, I consider myself extremely fortunate.  I’ve had the privilege of working with great people within great organizations. With Samhain and TWRP I walked away with new skills and new understanding of the industry. Having an editor work with you – guide you – is invaluable.  The fact that a publisher thinks enough of your writing to invest their time, talent and resources into making your book better is one of the biggest rewards I can imagine.

The chance to work with Entangled Publishing excites me.  A lot.  Their team is made up of people I respect a great deal.  Bestselling author Lori Wilde (who has been on my bookshelf since her Harlequin Duets in 2000) is the Editorial Director for their Indulgence imprint, which features 50,000 – 60,000 word  fast paced contemporary romances.  When I saw her email saying that she wanted Starts with Goodbye I nearly choked on the Snickers Bar I had in my mouth. (Confession:  I grabbed chocolate as soon as I saw the email from Entangled Publishing in my inbox. It’s always good to have comfort food close at hand in these situations.)

About a week later I had cause to celebrate yet again.  The new managing editor at Entangled, Alethea Spiridon-Hopson, was going to be my editor.  Gulp. Okay I’ll admit, that news made me a wee bit terrified nervous.  She has a lot of experience and a proven track record. During her years at Harlequin she worked with some amazing authors (many of whom are on my bookshelf).

So 2012 is off to a great start for me.  Check out some of the titles currently available from Entangled Publishing – it will give you an idea of why I’m so excited.

 www.entangledpublishing.com


4 thoughts on “Sharing some news…Zip-A-Dee-Doo-Dah

  1. You go giri. Jumping up and down for you right now. YEAAAAAAAAy. We need to celebrate. Chocolate icing and a little bit of cake is in order.
    Love ya
    Deb

    • Thank you, Deb. I really am excited. For some reason I feel this is the right place for my ‘voice’.

      You might need to hold my hand when I have to work on revisions. The thought alone makes me nervous 🙂

      Hugs,
      Rita

Leave a Reply

