Confessions of a fangirl…

Leave a comment

This past weekend I was forced to face a strange truth. I could walk past any Hollywood celebrity without batting an eye. Honestly I wouldn’t even be tempted to make a fool of myself. The same, however, is not true when it comes to well known authors. Put me within a one mile radius of NY Times bestselling author Kristan Higgins and I’m a bumbling fool. Marie Force? Ditto. In fact I made a point of telling my friends while at the New England Chapter of RWA conference that I needed to stay clear of any author that I like or admire…turning red, spewing strange fangirl comments, almost choking on an ice cube is not cool. Unfortunately things didn’t work out exactly as I planned. I blabbered on and on in front of Higgins, unable to stop the nervous energy that pushed long, weird sentences past my lips. While my friends networked with poise and dignity, I looked like a 12 year old hanging out at a Justin Beiber concert.  Yes, it was really that sad. It’s one of those moments where I now look back and wonder how in heaven Kristan Higgins didn’t burst out laughing. Never again. I’m putting it out there now. I will not approach Kristan, Marie, or God forbid Nora anytime, anywhere. George Clooney? No problem. Will Smith? I’m cool.

Now that I’ve confessed my latest humiliation I’m going to go curl up with Kristan’s newest release, Somebody to Love – which she was kind enough to sign for me.  SQUEE!

Leave a Reply

