A word of thanks…

Leave a comment

I love to write. I love to read what others have written. Those two things make up a large part of who I am. Next week I’ll have a new book releasing through Entangled Publishing and I’m really excited. I feel like I hit the jackpot – like this is where I belong with my writing.  Today I was reminded of how incredibly generous the writing community can be. Sometimes all we hear are the horror stories. The greedy publisher. The angry agent. The editor who insists on changing every word. (I’ve experienced none of these. Not one.)

Last night I had to do something for the very first time.  I had to reach out to a bestselling author and ask if she’d be interested in helping me.  Several months back she had read my story and she had liked it (at least I think she did).  Now I wanted a favor.  Guess what?  She said yes.  This brilliant writer who has been on my bookshelf for a decade said yes. That’s what the romance writing community is truly like. People who have reached the top who turn around and help new writers struggling to advance their own careers. Even though I expressed my gratitude directly to this author I wanted to say thank you here as well. Maybe someday I’ll be in a position to help someone else. I hope I have that chance to pay it forward.

Leave a Reply

