People are funny…

1 Comment

One of the hardest things about writing is avoiding temptation. It’s easy – too easy – to look at reader feedback at sites like Amazon, B&N, and Goodreads. Some comments I come across make me smile. While other comments make me cringe. Smart authors suggest avoiding reviews completely. There’s a very good reason for that. Reviews are not for me. They’re for other readers. The more information provided (good and bad) helps other potential readers decide if a story might work for them. What thoughts I have about reviews are kept locked in my mini-mind where they can do no harm.  Stop reading now if you wish to avoid seeing my brief exception to that rule.

Today I came across a one star rating that made me scratch my head. Apparently my book was the only book this person read or rated at this site. No comments. Bare minimum profile. And a user name that could easily be misinterpreted. My gut reaction was that it felt personal. I could be wrong – that’s been known to happen quite frequently. I hope I am. Seriously, I’d rather know that a reader couldn’t connect on any level with my story than to think someone went out of their way to slam me.

Guess where I won’t be tomorrow? Looking at review sites 🙂 Please remind me if I lose my mind and slip back over to the dark side.

One thought on “People are funny…

Leave a Reply

