Why I Need Nano…

2 Comments

NaNoWriMo Begins In …

0:12:42:28
(days:hours:minutes:seconds)
Every year I wait until the last moment to decide whether I want to take on NaNoWriMo.  If you’ve been a longtime follower of this blog (and yes I love you for that) you might be familiar with NaNo. Intrepid or crazy writers, depending on your perspective, attempt to write a 50,000 word novel in 30 days. This breaks down to about 1,667 words per day. Sounds reasonable, right?
The truth is this task can be daunting. Some days words just flow and some days I’ve got nothing. That’s hard to admit publicly because I know some writers can stretch and pull — and ultimately make it happen. My confidence as a writer fluctuates. NaNo is a reminder to just let it go. Write for the fun of it. Put my thoughts on paper and worry about revision later. Right now I need that. I do best when I write for ‘me’.
Today I’ll clean my office. An organized environment will help me stay on track. If you’ve ever entertained the idea of writing a novel, I encourage you to join the fun. It’s a great way to get your feet wet 🙂
2 thoughts on “Why I Need Nano…

Leave a Reply

