Well, I love that dirty water….

4 Comments

images-4Oh, Boston you’re my home. I no longer reside within the Commonwealth of Massachusetts but in many ways it’s still my home. I was born there. Spent the first 21 years of my life there. Hope to be buried next to family there. Watching the events of last week unfold was horrific – for everyone. The celebration of Patriot’s Day (statewide holiday that always includes The Boston Marathon and a day game at Fenway) ranks right up there with the biggest of Boston holidays. Every year my parents would pack up a picnic lunch and head out to watch the Marathon (often in matching sweatshirts). It’s one of the sweetest memories I hold of them. They would have been gutted to see what transpired last Monday. As with most large cities, law enforcement officers in Boston often face criticism for their work. They’re an easy target for the media. Last week they gave a great reminder to everyone of how they make a difference and how much they are willing to sacrifice for the good of the public. I hope we don’t forget.

Last week I also lost my great Aunt Helen. She was lovely in all the ways that matter. Helen held a special place in my mother’s heart – thereby in my heart, too. She will be missed.

Finally (I swear this is my last sad update) children’s author E. L. Konigsburg, a two-time winner of the Newbery Medal died on Friday, April 19 at age 83. In fifth grade I had my first exposure to Konigsburg when my  teacher Mrs.Peecha read “From the Mixed up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler” to my class. I LOVED it. Since that time I have purchased this book for my nieces, for my sister who is a teacher, and for my own children. The bookshelf in my office holds several Konigsburg novels – all well worn around the edges. If you haven’t read her work today might be a good day to start.

Right now the sun is shining through my front window. I’m looking forward to this week. No doubt it will bring more joy than last week.

 

4 thoughts on “Well, I love that dirty water….

  1. NEIL DIAMOND, @ Fenway over the weekend performing ” Sweet Caroline ” live ?TERRy, I tell you, it just doesn’t get any better than that ! ROCK OUT !

  2. A few weeks ago I bought an ear/nose hair trimmer @ C.V.S. ….. I don’t just like it, I LOVE it ! It works, ” So good, so good, so good ” !

Leave a Reply

