Lather, rinse, repeat….

2 Comments

IMG_0239The other day I was reading a Mother’s Day card that my youngest made at school. I swear teachers use holiday cards as a way to get a good belly laugh. Ask any child a series of questions about a parent and you’re going to get eye opening responses. My son’s was no different.

  • What does your mom do?  She’s an adult book author.  (Umm…I choked a little when I saw this, wondering if his teacher suddenly thinks I’m a 50 Shades of Grey kind of gal).
  • If you could give your mom one wish what would it be? For her to be stress free. (He made a point of telling me that he didn’t share the fact that I pull out pieces of hair when I get super sized anxious. This is a bad habit left over from high school. Yes, it’s totally eew).
  • I wish my mom would (play all sports)with me every day. .  Apparently baseball, football, and an occasional round of tennis just aren’t cutting it.

His card is now sitting next to my computer. Every time I look at it I get a dopey look on my face. I’ve been wallowing in quiet stress the past few weeks. Worried about little and large life events. School projects. Paperwork. Vacation Plans. Extended Family – Celebrations and Memorials. My first blemish in 5 years (seriously, on the side of my nose). Dust buildup on my laptop and treadmill. A missing cordless phone. Another home improvement project on the horizon. Jeans that are suddenly too tight. A Harlequin book review that has been sitting in my ‘to do’ pile for weeks. Lather. Rinse. Repeat.

On the other hand…I have so much stuff that balances the scale. Wedding anniversary tomorrow – a lot of years with a guy that’s not perfect but is just about perfect for me. OT victory by my beloved Bruins last night. Impending visit from my niece. Great writing workshop my friend brought me to this past weekend. Key lime pie in the house. Newly downloaded books on my Kindle. Flag football – the team isn’t great but my kids still have fun playing and I have enormous fun watching. Lather. Rinse. Repeat.

2 thoughts on “Lather, rinse, repeat….

  1. Ah kids TERRy, aren’t they something ? Back in the 80’s, when asked what his parents did for a living, a young friend of mine told his 1st grade teacher that his father was ” OIL CAN ” BOYD, then a star pitcher for the Boston Red Sox. Why let a little thing like “melanin deficiency” ruin a good story ?

Leave a Reply

